On 22nd new year.

2016 and its sad and unfortunate events.

Close the book.

Let the universe heal your wound.

I’d like to end 2016 and start 2017 with this question:

What would you rather have: a happy life or a meaningful life?

I just read an article in NYMag arguing about the difference between happy life and meaningful life and why we should chase upon meaningful instead of ‘just’ happy life.

They suggest:

Our goal this coming year shouldn’t just be happiness. Our goal should be meaningfulness. Instead of picking projects, hobbies, and relationships based on how happy they will make us, let’s focus on those things that make our lives more significant and worthwhile. If happiness ensues, great. But if it doesn’t, we can still take comfort in knowing that our lives matter and are contributing to the world in some way.

At some points, I agree with the writers on how we should make our life impactful for other people lives. However, I don’t think we need to distinct between being happy and meaningful because we surely can get both. I think genuine happiness will come only when you don’t feel sacrifice just to make other people happy.

And that’s exactly what I will do in 2017.

I don’t make any New Year Resolution this year since I realized that nothing’s worked with those useless lists. All that matter is my self-determination and somehow I feel burdened not achieve those goals within given time limit.

I think I will just do everything that I love and live a meaningful life by arranging priorities and being fully present in every moment in my life.

 

Cheers for the 2017,

 

Andina

Leave a Reply

